Menschen unscharf auf einer Straße

Bodies of the Berlin School of Public Health

The participating universities:

  • Alice Salomon University of Appied Sciences,
  • Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin
  • Technische Universität Berlin

are equally represented in the bodies of the Berlin School of Public Health.

You are here:

Bodies of the Berlin School of Public Health

The Berlin School of Public Health is accompanied by various committees that define and review the scientific orientation, strategic and administrative processes:

  • Board of directors
  • General Assembly
  • Joint Commission
  • Scientific Advisory Board.

In addition, there is an admission committee and examining board for each Master program.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the BSPH consists of one scientific representative from each of the supporting institutions. The Board of Directors is appointed by the General Assembly. A member of the Board of Directors assumes the role of spokesperson for a limited period (3 years) and is appointed by the General Assembly:

  • Charité – Universitätsmedizin: Prof. Dr. Dr. Tobias Kurth (Speaker)
  • Alice Salomon University of Applied Sciences: Prof. Dr. Raimund Geene
  • TU Berlin: Prof. Dr. Reinhard Busse

The Executive Board has the following tasks:

  • Convening of committees, e.g. for the selection of staff for doctoral and postdoctoral positions
  • Participation in the appointment committees of the supporting institutions for the filling of professorships assigned to the BSPH by appointing a representative with voting rights
  • Decision on the appointment of the administrative coordinating/executive board as well as the administrative posts
  • Invitation of the Senior fellows
  • Establishment of the scientific program of the BSPH
  • Decision on the concrete use of conference and travel funds raised by members of the BSPH for the BSPH.
  • Preparation and submission of an annual activity report and a work plan for the coming year to the general meeting.

The office is headed by Dr. Nina Adelberger.

General Assembly

The members of the general assembly are:

    Senate Chancellery - Science and Research: State Secretary Steffen Krach
    Alice Salomon Hochschule: Prof. Dr. Nils Lehmann-Franßen
    TU Berlin: Dr. Mathias Neukirchen
    Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Prof. Dr. Axel Pries

The chairmanship and the deputy chairmanship change every two years between the supporting institutions.

The General Assembly has the following tasks:

  • Consultation on all matters of fundamental importance for the BSPH
  • Decision on the annual planning and allocation of resources of the BSPH
  • Decision on the focal points of the BSPH's work in consultation with the Governing Board
  • Examination and approval of the Management Committee's activity report for the previous year and the work plan for the following year.

Scientific Advisory Board

  • Bernhard Gibis, Kassenärztliche Bundesvereinigung
  • Bärbel-Maria Kurth, Robert-Koch Institute
  • Heidrun Thaiss, Bundeszentrale für gesundheitliche Aufklärung
  • Martin McKee, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Fred Paccaud, Institute for Social and Preventive Medicine Lausanne
  • Susanne Babich, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Bernhard Gibis, National Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians  

The aforementioned persons have agreed to support the work of the BSPH through their scientific expertise in the Advisory Board and have been confirmed by the BSPH General Assembly.

The Scientific Advisory Board has the following tasks:

  • Development of recommendations and opinions on the scientific design of the BSPH
  • Participation in internal evaluation of the BSPH
  • Advising the BSPH on questions of content and making appropriate recommendations to the General Assembly of Members